top of page

Day 1: 2023 Session Opens with Rep. Jon Burns Elected as House Speaker

2023 Georgia Legislative Session Convenes

The state House kicked off the 2023 Georgia legislative session by convening for Legislative Day 1. Former longtime House Education Committee member Randy Nix, who did not run for re-election, delivered the House inspiration and invocation.


House members, consisting of many new faces, were confirmed before electing Rep. Jon Burns (R-Newington), the former House Majority Leader, as the 75th Speaker of the House. Burns succeeds David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge), who died last November. Rep. Jan Jones (R-Milton) briefly served as Georgia’s first female Speaker upon Ralston’s passing. She was re-elected today as Speaker Pro Tempore by her colleagues.


Sen. John Kennedy (R-Macon), the new Senate Majority Leader, led the Senate’s opening day in the absence of newly elected Lt. Gov. Burt Jones, who was traveling to the national championship football game in California. Sen. Steve Gooch (R-Dahlonega) led the chamber through its opening-day business, including a description of changes to Senate rules. The proposed rule changes were not approved, so discussion will continue during the next legislative day.


Gov. Kemp’s State of the State Address and Inauguration of State Officers


Gov. Brian Kemp is slated to deliver his 2022 State of the State Address on Jan. 25, a departure from the customary delivery of the speech during the first week of the legislative session. He is expected to release his proposed budgets for Fiscal Year 2024 and Amended Fiscal Year 2023 later this week.


On Thursday, Jan. 12 at 9:30 a.m., Kemp and other elected state constitutional officers will assume office at the inaugural swearing-in ceremony at the Georgia State University Convocation Center. Later Thursday evening, the Inaugural Gala will be held at State Farm Arena.


2023 Legislative Session Calendar Approved


The House and Senate approved an adjournment resolution that includes the schedule for the entire 40-day legislative session. The adopted calendar is subject to change, but the legislature is likely to adhere to it.

  • ​Monday, Jan. 9 – Legislative Day 1

  • Wednesday, Jan. 11 – Legislative Day 2

  • Thursday, Jan. 12 – Legislative Day 3

  • Friday, Jan. 13 – Legislative Day 4

  • Jan. 17-20 - Budget Hearings

  • Monday, Jan. 23 - Legislative Day 5

  • Tuesday, Jan. 24 - Legislative Day 6

  • Wednesday, Jan. 25 - Legislative Day 7

  • Thursday, Jan. 26 - Legislative Day 8

  • Monday, Jan. 30 - Legislative Day 9

  • Tuesday, Jan. 31 - Legislative Day 10

  • Wednesday, Feb. 1 - Legislative Day 11

  • Thursday, Feb. 2 - Legislative Day 12

  • Monday, Feb. 6 - Legislative Day 13

  • Tuesday, Feb. 7 - Legislative Day 14

  • Wednesday, Feb. 8 - Legislative Day 15

  • Thursday, Feb. 9 - Legislative Day 16

  • Monday, Feb. 13 - Legislative Day 17

  • Tuesday, Feb. 14 - Legislative Day 18

  • Wednesday, Feb. 15 - Legislative Day 19

  • Thursday, Feb. 16 - Legislative Day 20

  • Tuesday, Feb. 21 - Legislative Day 21/PAGE Day on Capitol Hill

  • Wednesday, Feb 22 - Legislative Day 22

  • Thursday. Feb. 23 - Legislative Day 23

  • Monday, Feb. 27 - Legislative Day 24

  • Tuesday, Feb. 28 - Legislative Day 25

  • Wednesday, March 1 - Legislative Day 26

  • Thursday, March 2 - Legislative Day 27

  • Friday, March 3 – Committee Work Day

  • Monday, March 6 – Legislative Day 28 (Crossover Day)

  • Tuesday, March 7 – Legislative Day 29

  • Wednesday, March 8 – Legislative Day 30

  • Thursday, March 9 – Legislative Day 31

  • Monday, March 13 – Legislative Day 32

  • Tuesday, March 14 – Legislative Day 33

  • Wednesday, March 15 – Legislative Day 34

  • Thursday, March 16 – Legislative Day 35

  • Monday, March 20 – Legislative Day 36

  • Tuesday, March 21 – Legislative Day 37

  • Wednesday, March 22 – Committee Work Day

  • Thursday, March 23 – Legislative Day 38

  • Monday, March 27 – Legislative Day 39

  • Tuesday, March 28 – Committee Work Day

  • Wednesday, March 29 – Legislative Day 40 (Sine Die)


Upcoming Schedule


Wednesday, Jan. 11 - Legislative Day 2

  • Eggs and Issues breakfast

  • House & Senate convene 11 a.m.

Thursday, Jan. 12, Legislative Day 3

  • Inauguration

Friday, Jan. 13, Legislative Day 4




Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page