top of page

Day 12: House Education Committee Names Subcommittee Chairs

Updated: Mar 10, 2021

The 2021 House Education Committee met briefly for the first time this morning and approved committee rules. Chair Matt Dubnik (R-Gainesville) made subcommittee assignments and announced the chairs of the subcommittees:

  • Academic Achievement – Chair Mike Cheokas (R-Americus)

  • Academic Support – Chair Will Wade (R-Dawsonville)

  • Academic Innovation – Chair Todd Jones (R-South Forsyth)

Subcommittee meetings will begin next week. Dubnik assigned HB 32 by Rep. Dave Belton (R-Buckhead) to the Academic Innovation subcommittee. The bill would create a refundable income tax credit for teachers who agree to teach in certain rural schools or low-performing schools. PAGE will report more information on this legislation as it proceeds through the committee process.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page