top of page

Day 5: AFY23 Education Budget Discussion, Including Sharp Employer Health Insurance Cost Increase

The House Appropriations Education Subcommittee convened briefly to hear Georgia Department of Education Chief Financial Officer Rusk Roam outline Gov. Brian Kemp's proposed budget for Amended Fiscal Year (AFY) 2023. Roam covered the following items:

  • $115.7 million for security grants of $50,000 per school

  • $15 million for $3,000 grants to reimburse paraprofessionals who earn certificates through the GaTAPP program

  • $25 million for learning loss grants allocated to school districts based on their number of 3rd Grade students reading below grade level

  • $128.2 million increase to the school funding formula to cover enrollment growth of more than 11,000 students, concentrated in elementary grades

  • $28 million increase to the State Commission Charter School Supplement

  • $6.4 million increase to the Special Needs Scholarship program to cover program growth

  • $846 million to immediately increase State Health Benefit Plan (SHBP) employer contribution per-member per-month (PMPM) rates from $945 to $1,580 for certified school employees. A similar increased is planned in 2024 for classified school staff.

During the brief question and answer session that followed, subcommittee members asked for more information about the $25 million earmarked for learning loss grants. Rep. Chris Erwin (R-Homer) also asked about how and when school districts were informed of the dramatic increase in PMPM employer SHBP costs. While no answer was offered in response to that question, Roam indicated Kemp is holding harmless school districts’ local five mill share to assist with increasing insurance costs.

House Committee Membership Announced

Late last week, membership of House committees was announced. Contact information for each committee member is accessible through the committee links at the top of each of the following committee lists:

  • Chris Erwin (R-Homer), Chairman

  • Scott Hilton (R-Peachtree Corners), Vice Chair

  • Lauren Daniel (R-parts of Henry & Spalding counties), Secretary

  • Segun Adeyina (D-Grayson)

  • Bethany Ballard (R-Warner Robins)

  • Doreen Carter (D-Lithonia)

  • Mike Cheokas (R-Americus)

  • David Clark (R-Buford)

  • Brent Cox (R-Dawsonville)

  • Matt Dubnik (R-Gainesville)

  • Becky Evans (D-Atlanta)

  • Lydia Glaize (D-Fairburn)

  • Karlton Howard (D-part of Richmond Co.)

  • Rick Jasperse (R-Jasper)

  • Jan Jones (R-Milton)

  • Todd Jones (R-South Forsyth)

  • Mesha Mainor (D-Atlanta)

  • Miriam Paris (D-Macon)

  • Rick Townsend (R-St. Simons Island)

  • Will Wade (R-Dawsonville)

  • David Wilkerson (D-Powder Springs)

  • John Carson, (R-Marietta), Chairman

  • Lehman Franklin, (R-Statesboro), Vice Chair

  • David Jenkins (R-Grantville), Secretary

  • Patty Bentley (D-Butler)

  • James Beverly (D-Macon)

  • Debbie Buckner (D-Junction City)

  • Buddy DeLoach (R-Townsend)

  • Chris Erwin (R-Homer)

  • Stacey Evans (D-Atlanta)

  • Gerald Greene (R-Cuthbert)

  • Sharon Henderson (D-Covington)

  • Marvin Lim (D-Norcross)

  • Chuck Martin (R-Alpharetta)

  • Steve Tarvin (R-Chickamauga)

  • Brad Thomas (R-Holly Springs)

  • David Wilkerson (D-Powder Springs)

  • Mary Frances Williams (D-Marietta)

  • Noel Williams, Jr. (R-Cordelle)

  • Matt Dubnik (R-Gainesville), Chairman

  • Leesa Hagan (R-Lyons), Vice-Chair

  • Kimberly Alexander (D-Hiram)

  • Robert Dickey (R-Musella)

  • Chris Erwin (R-Homer)

  • Edna Jackson (D-Savannah)

  • Jan Jones (R-Milton)

  • Todd Jones (R-South Forsyth)

  • Will Wade (R-Dawsonville)

Upcoming Schedule

Tuesday Jan. 24: Legislative Day 6

  • 2:30 p.m. Senate Education & Youth Committee, 450 CAP

Wednesday, Jan. 25: Legislative Day 7

Thursday, Jan. 26: Legislative Day 8


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page